Reviews

In this section, you can read all game reviews written by TruePCGaming. We will do our best to present each review in an easy-to-read format offering as much relevant information as possible on each title. Being as transparent as possible is important and that is why we offer full disclosure on reviews and previews written by our staff. You will know exactly how we acquired the games reviewed whether purchased by a staff member or a review copy. In terms of scoring, we do things a little differently. Please click this link to read more.

August 2012

A Virus Named TOM – Stuart Young

Do you like head-scratching puzzle games? Do you like tense, reflex-heavy arcade games? If both are your cup of tea, then AVNT is practically a full-blown tea set and priced exactly right too.

Orcs Must Die! 2 – Omar Khan

OMD2 for me is the answer to both the questions “What are you currently playing?” and “I’m bored, what do you wanna do?” It’s fresh, vibrant gameplay makes it more than worth the $14 asking price.  Sure, after maybe a month you’ll get bored of it, but I guarantee a month after that you’ll be picking it back up again.

Nexuiz – Carlin Au

Surely, a combination of the new and old is bound to produce something beautiful. I’m afraid it’s only a gimmick as the engine just creates a blur around everything the player sees. Not exactly viable for a fast-paced Quake-style game.  This coupled with a small amount of players, Nexuiz simply falls short.

Space Marine – Phil Cordaro

I can understand why Space Marine didn’t win any game of the year awards, but it really is worth giving a shot. You may be surprised how much enjoyment you get out of it. Or you’ll totally disagree with me… which is entirely possible.

July 2012

Max Payne 3 – Mike Bezek

But for reasons unbeknownst to this writer, the story has shifted to a South American political wasteland where none of the comforts of the previous experiences seem to be present. While the smooth gameplay, superb audio presentation, and beautiful graphics are all accounted for, the soul of Max is all but gone.

Hard Reset – Stuart Young

There’s a bit of all of these factors being channelled into Hard Reset, a cyberpunk-styled retro FPS from Polish indie studio Flying Wild Hog, a game where you shoot nothing but robots – until, of course they explode. Yet it’s almost as satisfying the thousandth (not an exaggeration) time as it is the first.

Gateways – Omar Khan

You play as a scientist trapped in his own laboratory with no memory of how you ended up in such a situation. Starting with nothing, it’s your job, while making your escape, to gather your equipment and piece together what happened to you.  If you’re going to rehash a well-established mechanic from a beloved game series with a more than devoted fan base, you better do it well.

Resonance – Armaan Khan

I can give Resonance a total recommendation. You do get used to the quirks after a while, and the story is definitely something worth experiencing.

Heroes and Generals – Carlin Au

Of course, everything is subject to change because this is a game currently in its closed beta stage. Heroes and Generals is so far, a game built an awesome concept with potential, but doesn’t hide its shortcomings.

Gunpoint Preview – Armaan Khan

Honestly, I love everything I’ve seen in Gunpoint. It’s the first stealth game that I’ve truly enjoyed through and through because it feels right.You should definitely keep an eye out for it. I know I will.

June 2012

Bang Bang Racing – Adam Ames

While the lack of a fully fleshed out multiplayer mode might turn away some potential buyers, there is still a great time to be had. Try the demo if you are concerned about the dizziness or micro stutters. For the asking price of $9.99, Bang Bang Racing is sure to be money well spent.

Alan Wake’s American Nightmare – Omar Khan

Let me just get this out the way now: if you don’t have a lot invested in the first Alan Wake then you’re going to feel left out right off the bat.  A lot of the negative press surrounding the original Alan Wake game was that it wasn’t very scary for a horror title. This problem still manifests itself in American Nightmare.

Dark Scavengers – Armaan Khan

If you’re a fan of indie games, RPGs, laughing, and making meaningful decisions, then you should definitely pick this up. It doesn’t have the slick production values a game produced by a professional micro-studio would have, but it has a lot more heart than they could ever provide.

Torchlight II Preview – Mike Bezek

The numerous improvements that seem to stem from direct contact with their player base to resolve issues of its predecessor leads me to believe that there is a very good chance that we might have one of the best sequels to a game in recent years.

Nancy Drew: Tomb of the Lost Queen – Armaan Khan

Before you read this review, you need to know that Tomb of the Lost Queen is the 26th installment in the Nancy Drew adventure game series since its inception in 1998. Let that sink in: twenty-six. You don’t get to 26 releases unless you’re doing something right, and judging from Tomb of the Lost Queen, developer Her Interactive has been doing a lot right.

Megabyte Punch – Kyle Johnson

With the current Alpha offering very little in the way of actual game content, you’re best off spending the asking price of $7.50 on another title until further progress in development has been made.

Evochron Mercenary – Nathaniel Velliquette

I appreciate Evochron Mercenary for what it strives to be and is. Rarely do developers now-a-days have the opportunity to invest themselves beyond a games initial release. But if you are an avid space entrepreneur, I guarantee you will have a great experience.

May 2012

Legends of Grimrock – Nathaniel Velliquette

Almost Human’s Legend of Grimrock not only honors but makes apparent the vast potential in one of these genres: the long-forgotten dungeon crawl.

TPG Second Look: Oil Rush – Kyle Johnson

In case it hasn’t been made obvious so far, the answer is a solid “no.”  With the floundering campaign and lack of a multiplayer community, there aren’t enough good points for Oil Rush to outweigh the rather present flaws

April 2012

A Valley Without Wind – Armaan Khan

It’s a delightfully addictive grind-fest worthy of your dollars, provided you have the time to devote to it.

A Virus Named Tom – Omar Khan

A great sense of humor, good voice acting fun gameplay and funktastic music makes Misfits Attic’s A Virus Named Tom a fun and memorable puzzle game.

Freespace 2 – Nathaniel Velliquette

Nearly thirteen years old, it infuriates me to see how every other space flight simulator is nothing like Freespace 2. Volition, the developer, understands how to appeal to hardcore sim players while making a complex game accessible to people new to the genre.

A Valley Without Wind – Armaan Khan

It’s a delightfully addictive grind-fest worthy of your dollars, provided you have the time to devote to it.

Coloropus – Kyle Johnson

Coloropus is one such variety of adventure game, and though it stumbles a bit along the way, the peculiar blend of color puzzles, adventuring, and mouse-based movement makes for a charming game that is well worth your money.

Diablo III Preview – Leland Flynn III

I feel confident in saying that not only will Diablo III raise the bar for Action-RPGs but it will redefine the genre.

House of 1000 Doors: Palm of Zoroaster – Armaan Khan

If you can look past the installer shenanigans, House of 1000 Doors: Palm of Zoroaster is a solid and engaging hidden object game that is sure to please, even at the higher-than-normal price of $20.

March 2012

Confrontation – Mike Andre

Even though it probably won’t be a groundbreaking game or a game of the year candidate, it surely piqued my interest.

Waveform – Leland Flynn III

With such simple controls and challenging gameplay I think casual gamers and seasoned puzzle game veterans will both enjoy this title.

King Arthur II – Carlin Au

King Arthur II has got the role-playing aspect down, but as far as real-time strategy goes, it has a long way to go before entering the big leagues.

Nitronic Rush – Adam Ames

In a landscape where the PC combat/survival racers are becoming more and more popular, Nitronic Rush sets the tone to to any future studio thinking about creating a PC racing game.

Super Monday Night Combat – Leland Flynn III

Over the course of more than 10 hours I have gone from getting my butt handed to me every few minutes to occasionally scoring a few kills, and I’ve loved every minute of it!

Crusader Kings II – George Weidman

It is brilliant and it is grand, but it is also encumbered with a maximalist design that obscures both qualities.

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers – Armaan Khan

Dark Strokes is simply the best HOG I have played since Clockwork Man 2 and is definitely worth spending your money on.

Zytron II – Mike Andre

The game is a traditional scrolling shoot’em up or shmup, similar to R-Type, where your objective is, as you probably guessed it, to blow everything up and proceed to the next level.

Dear Esther – Nathaniel Velliquette

Dear Esther is a bold attempt at something most developers would never consider. It’s strictly a narrative and nothing more. For simply $9.99, you can experience a short but quality and unique type of game yet to be capitalized on.

1000 Amps – Armaan Khan

I like 1000 Amps a lot. It’s a fun, challenging game that is a joy to play. Unfortunately, while I had a good time with it, the input lag prevents me from recommending it.

February 2012

The Darkness II Review – Armaan Khan

The Darkness II’s main campaign is a well-written tale that is worth experiencing, even though the fun factor decreases as the game wears on.

Alan Wake Review – George Weidman

Remedy has created a compelling world here; one that depicts backwoods mundanity with artisan flair and technical brilliance. But as the game climaxed, I began regretting the fact that it never realized the greatness that its first few hours suggest.

Gunpoint Preview – Leland Flynn III

I have spent more time playing this game in the past week than is probably healthy. Its demanding and strategy-oriented gameplay along with its tight controls and satisfying reward system have kept me coming back and left me aching to get my hands on the finished product.

Zeit2 – TPG Guest Review

The Braid-meets-Osmos of the shoot ‘em ups? Absolutely. An instant classic forever to be remembered in the Great Hall of STGs? Not so much. A decent shooter no longer plagued by terrible DRM and now worth giving a try? Yes, absolutely!

Antiploe Review – Leland Flynn III

Antipole has been one of the most fun platformers that I have played in quite some time. The level designs were fun and occasionally tormenting. The gameplay was deceptively simple, required a bit of finesse and demanded my full engagement.

Law and Order: Legacies Review – Armaan Khan

With Law and Order Legacies, Telltale has once again attempted something different, this time by combining a simplified version of L.A. Noire’s conversation mechanic with some of Phoenix Wright’s courtroom drama while throwing in some hidden object shenanigans. The result is a curious and entertaining game that old-school point-and-click fans will hate, but casual adventurers should definitely check out.

FlatOut 3 Review – Mike Andre

Everything about the experience is so dismal, broken and uninspired, its existence alone is a slap in the face to racing fans.

Oil Rush – Leland Flynn III

Even if you have a passing interest in the strategy genre, I would highly recommend that you give it a go.  The gameplay is extremely accessible and should be easy to pick up for most players.

January 2012

Telepath: Servants of God Preview: George Weidman

Though Servants of God is a one-man project with an unappealing visual scheme, it’s worth a look if only for the fact that we don’t see many entries into the “Arabian-themed tactical JRPG” genre on the PC.

Metal Dead Review – Mike Andre

Simply put, it’s worth every cent of the $4 asking price.  Despite its poor looks and sound, the story and gameplay shine through.

Unstoppable Gorg – Armaan Khan

There isn’t much to complain about Unstoppable Gorg. It is beautiful, challenging, and well worth the $10 you’ll spend on it.

Q.U.B.E. Review – Mike Andre

If you like cleverly designed and challenging puzzles, you’ll almost certainly enjoy Q.U.B.E. and the asking price of $14.99 is just fine.

Dustforce Review – Nicholas Krawchuck

Whether you’re a masochistic Super Meat Boy fan waiting for the next game to eat away your life, a fan of platformers, or just someone who enjoys nice looking games, you are in for a treat.

Jamestown Review – George Weidman

Two decades ago, whenever I closed my eyes and pictured the perfect game, it looked something like Jamestown.

Warlock: Master of the Arcane Preview – Nicholas Krawchuck

Judging by what I’ve played so far, Warlock has the opportunity to make quite a name for itself in the turn-based strategy world.

Modern Warfare 3 – George Weidman

If Infinity Ward truly interprets war as a naturally-occurring mechanism to preserve the fittest, then no wonder their virtual version of war is a physiologically demanding target-shooting sport filled with aggressively vocal players. After witnessing a mess of cheaters and horriblysurreal trash-talkers, I didn’t blame these players for being so mad.

TPG Review Classics: Wing Commander 3 – Armaan Khan

It’s a good experience overall, and worth checking out as a curiosity, but there are much better space sims out there to pass your time with.

Water Galaxy – Luke de Beneducci

I fully recommend this game. It is simply an incredible amount of fun gameplay for a great price. Even if you’re not a great fan of physics puzzle games like me, you will definitely enjoy this game a lot.

TPG Second Look: Serious Sam 3 – Mike Andre

 After a long pause, Serious Sam is back to remind us why FPSs don’t need to cost millions to make and have a shiny almost photo-realistic engine to be fun. Big guns? Check. Big explosions? Check. Gore? Check. Absurd enemies? Check. This is old-school first person shooting at its finest.

Ignite – Adam Ames

Nemesys Games throws their hat into the PC racing ring with a new title, Ignite.  The game introduces some interesting gameplay mechanics all the while looking pretty doing so.  Ignite will not win any hardcore racers away from their simulators, but fans of a more laid back style of arcade racing will feel right at home.

House of a Thousand Doors – Armaan Khan

I enjoyed my time with it, and highly recommend it for any hidden object fans out there. My only issue with it is the price. At twenty bucks for the collector’s edition, it’s pretty expensive but, ultimately, I have to say it’s worth it.

TPG Guest Review – Super Crossfire

At an asking price of $5, it’s really hard to say no. Knowing the developer is now actively supporting the game and trying to cover all the issues presented by the users, go ahead and buy it right now.

The Baconing – Nicholas Krawchuck

That’s not too terrible, as the game costs $14.99, less than one of those expansion packs would have cost and for near the same length.

Postal 3 PC Review – George Weidman

The third Postal is the most unpolished and unenjoyable entry in the series by a wide margin, and the game makes fun of itself for it. Thing is, the jokes ring so true that they aren’t funny at all.

Mountain Crime: Requital Review – Armaan Khan

Mountain Crime: Requital is one of the better hidden object adventure games I’ve played and is definitely worth the $10 price tag if you enjoy this sort of thing. You’ll get four hours of grippingly compelling mystery storytelling with some good (though easy) gameplay thrown in as well. Hidden object fans should definitely check it out.

Dustforce Preview – Mike Bezek

Dustforce is poised to once again up the standards for the platforming genre once more. Whether it be the soundtrack that oozes with personality, the precise controls, or the overwhelming feeling that you are becoming a ninja-turned-custodian, Hitbox Team has delivered something truly special.

Mechanic Infantry – Luke de Beneducci

I would rather dish out more money for Super Meat Boy, which is a better rendition of the same type of game.

December 2011

Vampires vs Zombies – Nicholas Krawchuck

It has minor appeal to those who obsess over the Plants vs. Zombies clone subgenre, but this deviates from the formula and heads in the wrong direction. The game lasted me about six hours, but even that time felt wasted; it was all the same.

Kerbal Space Program – Armaan Khan

Is it still cool to dream about being an astronaut? Space seems so passé these days but, man, when I was a kid it was the tops. I would watch the shuttle launches on TV and dream about one day going up into the black myself. I never did quite get there, but it’s okay now because indie developer Squad has produced Kerbal Space Program to fill that void in my dreams.

Batman: Arkham City PC Review – Noah Baxter

Without a doubt, Batman: Arkham City is my most anticipated title of the year. But all that anticipation made me ask the question: what is the likelihood of it living up to, let alone exceeding expectations?

SkyDrift PC Review – Armaan Khan

But here’s the problem: SkyDrift is a shoddy console port. It’s missing basic functionality like a single-player custom race mode and a proper lobby system for multiplayer.

Saints Row 3 (via OnLive) – George Weidman

The GTA3-sized city is tiny compared to the size of most sandbox games coming out these days, and there isn’t a huge variety of minigame activities to do in-between missions. The fact that THQ has already scheduled 40 whole weeks of constant DLC releases (many of them being simple cheat codes) for the game should tune us in to how much content is being reserved only for customers who can afford to pay extra.

Elementary My Dear Majesty – Armaan Khan

Technically, I should love Elementary My Dear Majesty. After all, I love hidden object games, I love “save the princess” stories, and I love comic absurdity. EMDM has all those elements, and it begins and ends strongly enough, but the padded-out middle and repetitive puzzles take what should have been a charming little title and turn it into a chore.

Dreamscape – Mike Andre

In Dreamscape, you guide your characters to the least expected of places: inside the subconscious of the various characters of the game. The concept is very interesting and radically different from the usual medieval or sci-fi settings.

Serious Sam 3: BFE – Mike Bezek

You are not going to get a good story, and you are not going to see CryEngine-powered graphics. What you will get is a well-balanced experience that continues a dying tradition in gaming priced at $40.

Waves – Nathaniel Velliquette

The game offers the same old feeling that you would get from Geometry Wars and Beat Hazard but brings little content to the playing field. So if you really love vibrant arena shooters with pumping techno beats, this game will be a worthy investment. Otherwise, you might want to save your money.

Interstellar Defence Troops – Armaan Khan

Are you burned out on tower defense games yet? Newly-minted indie developer Winter Rain Games hopes the answer is “no,” because they’ve just released their debut title, Interstellar Defence Troops, for your consideration. And consider it you should, because it is a challenging, polished, and addicting little gem that’s well worth playing.

AaaaaAAaaa For The Awesome – Nicholas Krawchuck

The original was one of the most interesting, unique, adrenaline pumping games I’d ever tried and For The Awesome keeps up the trend.

Crusader Kings II Preview – Armaan Khan

So, why am I talking about Skyrim? Because I have come to the conclusion that CK2 will be the Skyrim of historical strategy games.

November 2011

Skyrim PC Review – George Weidman

The Elder Scrolls universe is Betheda’s baby. This time, they aren’t taking a fumbled stab at Fallout or haphazardly re-inventing their franchise for a new generation a lá Oblivion. Skyrim is a legit sequel, correcting what didn’t work in Oblivion and taking those corrections to an exciting new place.

Drawn 3 – Nicholas Krawchuck

Drawn 3 is gorgeous and challenging with an intriguing plot and mind bending puzzles. The life and vibrant colour scheme is sure to impress.

Renegade Ops – Noah Baxter

I could wax lyrical over how much I love the game, and seeing as I have a soapbox here, I’m inclined to do just that.

LA Noire PC Review – Armaan Khan

That’s why I’m happy to see L.A. Noire make it onto the PC, because it is a AAA production that lifts the genre to new levels, and a game that any adventure gamer owes him-or-her-self to play.

InMomentum Review – Mike Andre

A platformer where you play in the first person where the goal is to reach the end of the level as quickly as possible? That surely sounded like a recipe for disaster.  Thankfully, the game plays well and the fears I had quickly dissipated.

Girl with a Heart of PC Review – Noah Baxter

As unexpected as it was, Girl with a Heart of had proven itself to be almost everything it claimed to be: fascinating, complex, challenging, and most of all, completely captivating.

Serious Sam: The Random Encounter Review – Mike Bezek

So in place of a shiny new Serious Sam, what we have here is an Action-RPG hybrid that tosses aside conventions of the genre in favor of shootin’ stuff and then shootin’ more stuff.

Cardinal Quest Review – Nicholas Krawchuck

I never thought a turn-based game could be so exciting and intense. The game has a lot of charm and its length and randomization make it the perfect pick up and play game.

F1 2011 PC Review – Nathaniel Velliquette

Though not overly engaging, it provides enough customization and accessibility for any level of interest to get involved. If you are looking for a standard racing game, you might want to look elsewhere.

Stronghold 3 Review – Mike Andre

All in all, Stronghold 3 is a big disappointment. Perhaps with some time Firefly Studios can turn this mess into a good game, but as it is right now, I can’t recommend it to anyone.

TPG Command Performance: Serious Sam 3 Preview – Nicholas Krawchuk

The game is shaping up to be a great addition to the series.  As of this preview, the game is only missing one story mission and its survival mode which is something that is a perfect fit for this kind of game.

Sequence Review – Armaan Khan

It’s one of the most fun and refreshing gaming experiences I’ve had in a very long time, but it isn’t a game everyone will enjoy.

Dungeon Defenders Review – Mike Bezek

While Dungeon Defenders is in need of small improvements to turn a great experience into a spectacular one, this is simply one of the top contenders for Indie Game of the Year, right alongside Bastion.

TPG Command Performance: Trine 2 Preview – Mike Andre

Trine 2 is the sequel of one of the most pleasant surprises of 2009 and is now among the most anticipated titles for 2011.  Our heroes Pontius the Knight, Zoya the Thief and Amadeus the Wizard are back for their new adventure and it looks good.

Demolition Inc – Noah Baxter

If you’re absolutely dying to recreate your life as a demolitions expert, or perhaps if you have a particularly destructive child to entertain, by all means grab a copy of Demolition Inc. Otherwise, my recommendation lies firmly with the reliable, replayable classics of the genre.

October 2011

TPG Second Look: EYE Divine Cybermancy – Noah Baxter

Set in a universe that feels primarily like a mash-up of Bladerunner, Alien and System Shock 2, E.Y.E. offers science fiction fans a real treat. It doesn’t quite live up to its lofty influences, but the elements of each it blends together create something elaborate and unique that is well worth a look.

Lightfish Review – Armaan Khan

In Lightfish, you play a glowy neon fish living in the glowy neon depths of the ocean, and your goal is to eliminate the glowy neon threats endangering your survival. Apparently, the best way of doing this is by drawing boxes around everything. I had no idea undersea survival looked like Flow and played like Qix.

Frayed Knights – Mike Andre

The $22.99 price tag might seem a little steep but the game has a pretty large longevity.  If you are looking for something different from modern offerings and you like RPGs, I highly recommend Frayed Knights.

The Witcher 2 v2.0 – Nicholas Krawchuk

The Witcher 2 is the best RPG I’ve played in a long time. It has the most extensive non-linear story I have ever seen in a game and one of the most complex and fun combat systems.

Orcs Must Die! – Armaan Khan

We humans are constantly encouraged to slay them any way we can—a problem that isn’t helped when propaganda like Orcs Must Die gets released, which makes the wholesale slaughter of the species so much fun.

TPG Second Look: Xotic – Mike Andre

Xotic’s concept is unique and the art style is beautiful but sadly it comes with quite a few (serious) problems.

Dead Horde Review – Armaan Khan

Dead Horde doesn’t do anything that’s remotely creative in any way, nor does it do anything that’s remotely fun. There are a lot of great ways for you to make use of your gaming budget, but Dead Horde is definitely not one of them.

RAGE PC Review – George Weidman

The game can be fairly long too, lasting anywhere from eight to 30 hours depending on how many side quests are attempted. Nevertheless, the whole package doesn’t reach the threshold of quality that your $60 deserves.

TPG Command Performance: Defenders of Ardania – Armaan Khan

Even with its flaws, Defenders of Ardania proved to be fun and addicting. Every time I booted it up to double-check something for this preview, I ended up playing a level or two.

Pirates of Black Cove Review – Mike Bezek

Pirates of Black Cove takes up the cross of the pirate premise and attempts to add RTS elements to a lighthearted swashbuckling adventure. While the idea attempts to breathe air into a floundering sub-genre, the game stumbles on basic key concepts that take what could be a satisfying experience and turns it into a mediocre adventure tinged with scurvy.

Xotic Review – Luke de Beneducci

Despite its lack of shiny modern graphics, Xotic packs a formidable punch and will most definitely provide you with hours of enjoyable gameplay.

The Clockwork Man 2: The Hidden World Review – Armaan Khan

The Clockwork Man 2: The Hidden World, improves everything good about the first game, throws a compelling story on top, and is a product I can confidently call one of the best adventures games I’ve played this year.

Blocks That Matter Review – Nicholas Krawchuk

The game is a puzzle platformer that takes you through a variety of environments and blocks. It’s full of tricky puzzles and reflex-testing challenges which are sure to frustrate, entertain, and satisfy you.

TrackMania 2 Review – Adam Ames

Not only is TrackMania 2 recommended for veteran and newcomers alike, some hardcore PC racers just might find some fun in the Canyon as well.

Hamilton’s Great Adventure Review – Armaan Khan

Despite the poor graphics configuration options and consolitis, Hamilton’s Great Adventure is a lot of fun. If you have a good graphics card (or don’t mind hacking the ini file) and an Xbox 360 controller plugged into your computer, then it is definitely worth every penny.

Avadon: The Black Fortress Review – Luke de Beneducci

It’s easy to start up thinking you’ll only play for a short time before finding yourself rubbing sleepy eyes three hours later.

Fallout: New Vegas – Courier’s Stash and Gun Runners’ Arsenal – George Weidman

A New Vegas installation can linger on one’s hard drive for years and all that Gun Runner’s Arsenal does is make the whole experience better. It’s a recommended buy.

September 2011

Fallout: New Vegas – Lonesome Road PC Review – George Weidman

But for the most part, Lonesome Road’s evident dullness does more to red-flag it as the weakest link in New Vegas’ DLC chain than showcase it as a worthy purchase. One last word of advice: Lonesome Road is intended for players leveled 25 or higher.

Rock of Ages Review – Nicholas Krawchuk

The time trials are a good way for dedicated players to get more playtime out of the game and I’m sure multiplayer would be good fun as well if it was more active. For the price of $10 on Steam, the game is well worth your money.

Dead Island PC Review – Mike Bezek

While it’s not the vacation that was originally proposed to me, I’d still send the blood-soaked postcard home to grandma.

Serious Sam Double D Review – George Weidman

Despite its length, a satirical shooter is totally doing something right when a puzzle involves stacking bodies of enemies high enough to escape a pit. Though there are better values out there, Double D is worth the $8 for liberal spenders. Otherwise, look out for it as a must-purchase sale item.

Alien Hallway PC Review – Carlin Au

Flash games like Warfare and Sea of Fire did an excellent job by changing things up to keep the player interested; I only wish that Alien Hallway did the same.

Misfortune: Free to Play Pirate Adventure – Luke de Beneducci

Misfortune is a fun little game to play and I would definitely recommend trying out the game at least once.  The art style is beautiful and whimsical.  The plotlines while, not completely flushed out, are full of comedic value.

Hard Reset  – Nicholas Krawchuk

It’s mediocre, rough around the edges all the while dressed up in a pretty package, and it agonizes me to say so.  Perhaps the next entry from Flying Wild Hog will address these issues and offer us a true masterpiece.

Alice: Madness Returns PC Review – George Weidman

As a mid-length single-player game that doesn’t immediately solicit replay value, Alice: Madness Returns is not worth the $50 by itself. But it is worth checking out eventually.

Tiger Woods PGA TOUR 12: The Masters PC Review – Adam Ames

The prospect of next-gen graphics, detailed ball physics, real-time weather conditions and a TV style presentation finally available on the PC made for painful anticipation.  Unfortunately for everyone involved, Tiger Woods PGA TOUR 12: The Masters not only missed the cut, it got lost in the parking lot.

Space Pirates and Zombies Review – Nicholas Krawchuk

SPAZ is a gem rarely found these days offering something unique, innovative and fun.

TRAUMA Review: Defeatism You Can Play George Weidman

While Majewski’s narrative may sound stilted and uninspired, it’s anything but. The whole game seems like an experiment in playable defeatism, and that’s refreshing. The underlying plot here is interesting enough to keep you going forward, and presented beautifully.

Bastion Review: One For The Ages – Mike Bezek

Bastion is a game that takes those who think games are for children and spins their argument on its head. For all the childish romps that fuel the arguments of the naysayers, finally, here is the antithesis.

August 2011

Defend Your Planet: Mini Robot Wars – Nicholas Krawchuk

At the heart of Mini Robot Wars is a well-meaning but inferior clone of Plants vs Zombies. It has a charming art style that seems to be geared towards a family audience. It has many graphical flaws, only a couple of which may actually hinder the gameplay but all of which may hinder the enjoyment of some players who are looking for a higher visual quality.

Celestial Mechanica: Not Without Its Merits – George Weidman

After a few more patches it may be worth $5, but until then, virtually everything could have more work put into it. Except for the soundtrack. The soundtrack is awesome.

Tobe’s Vertical Adventure: A Lesson in Charm – Mike Bezek

The fluid level design, excellent difficulty curve, and energetic soundtrack are just a few reasons to dive head first into this indie gem.

Ancients of Ooga – Nicholas Krawchuk

Ancients of Ooga is not the best the genre can offer but definitely 10 dollars worth of fun.

E.Y.E: Divine Cybermancy: Lost In Translation – Mike Bezek

There are a lot of great and interesting concepts that exist in this game, but they are overshadowed by game-breaking bugs and the atrocious user interface.  When I first played the game, I saw the promise of an interesting story, and fun combat system neatly wrapped up in a dystopic future. What I was left with was a bad taste in my mouth that made the experience never rise above utter mediocrity.

Cthulhu Saves the World – Nicholas Krawchuk

The game is both a parody and loving revival of old school JRPG’s à la Final Fantasy or Chrono Trigger. It uses a retro 16-bit art style and classic RPG battle and exploration elements. Cthulhu is full of dungeon crawling, zombie slaying, party managing and of course, with a title like Cthulhu Saves the World, a ridiculous sense of humour.

VVVVVV: Testing Your Personal Limits of Sanity – Mike Bezek

V6 is a game that totally blindsided me.  It slapped me across the face like an angry lover who wanted a good reason why I was out drinking with my rendered-polygon friends for the past 20 years.

Delve Deeper – Nicholas Krawchuk

It’s one of those games where you start playing in the early evening and quit at some point in the early morning wondering where those hours of your life went.